O Level (CSEC)

The Mathematics syllabus explains general and unifying concepts that facilitate the study of Mathematics as a coherent subject rather than as a set of unrelated topics.

The syllabus seeks to provide for the needs of specific mathematical techniques in the future careers of students, for example, in agriculture and in commercial and technical fields. By the end of the normal secondary school course, students should appreciate that the various branches of Mathematics are not rigidly segregated and that the approach to the solution of any problem is not necessarily unique.

The syllabus is arranged in ten sections:

Section 1         –           Computation

Section 2         –           Number Theory

Section 3         –           Consumer Arithmetic

Section 4         –           Sets

Section 5         –           Measurement

Section 6         –           Statistics

Section 7         –           Algebra

Section 8         –           Relations, Functions and Graphs

Section 9         –           Geometry and Trigonometry

Section 10       –           Vectors and Matrices

Leave a Reply